DIGITAL BOOKSJEUNESSE - ENBABYGAMES-TOYSSTATIONERYGIFTSEntertainment


Message Important
Le site sera temporairement en maintenance, pour une mise à jour. Ceci afin de mieux vous servir.
Heure de maintenance prévue : 10:30 pm

Important message
The site will be busy updating the store for you and will be back shortly.
Scheduled maintenance : 10:30 pm
BOOKS
NEW RELEASES PAPERBACK BOOKS COUPS DE CŒUR BEST SELLERS GIFT CARDS LIVRES NEUFS RÉDUITS LITTERATURE French and foreign novels Quebec, Canada literature Detective Novels Science fiction, fantasy Teenage literarure Poetry, theather, literary essays ART DE VIVRE Cooking, wine Psychologie - Santé Maternité - Famille Sexualité BD - JEUNESSE - HUMOUR Bandes-dessinées Humour Youth CULTURE ET SOCIÉTÉ Arts Biographies Essais Gestion - Économie - Droit Histoire - Politique Religion - Ésotérisme LOISIRS - TOURISME - NATURE Faune - Flore Géographie - Voyage Guides pratiques Sport - Loisirs SAVOIR ET SCIENCES Dictionnaires - Langues - Éducation Sciences Informatique
Last Witnesses - SVETLANA ALEXIEVICH

Last Witnesses

SVETLANA ALEXIEVICH

 
$40.00

English book
Feuilleter Feuilleter
In stock : Usually ships in 48 hours.
Quantity
Add to my wish list
LEARN MORE Summary

From the Nobel Prize-winning writer, an oral history of children’s experiences in World War II across Russia—in the vein of The Unwomanly Face of War and Secondhand Time

For more than three decades, Svetlana Alexievich has been the memory and conscience of the twentieth century. When the Swedish Academy awarded her the Nobel Prize, it cited her for inventing “a new kind of literary genre,” describing her work as “a history of emotions . . . a history of the soul.”

Bringing together dozens of voices in her distinctive style, Last Witnesses is Alexievich’s collection of the memories of those who were children during World War II. They had sometimes been soldiers as well as witnesses, and their generation grew up with the trauma of the war deeply embedded—a trauma that would change the course of the Russian nation.

Collectively, this symphony of children’s stories, filled with the everyday details of life in combat, reveals an altogether unprecedented view of the war. Alexievich gives voice to those whose memories have been lost in the official narratives, uncovering a powerful, hidden history from the personal and private experiences of individuals.

Translated by the renowned Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky, Last Witnesses is a powerful and poignant account of the central conflict of the twentieth century, a kaleidoscopic portrait of the human side of war.

Details
Price: $40.00
Category:
Author:  SVETLANA ALEXIEVICH
Title: Last Witnesses
Release date: July 2019
Editor: RANDOM HOUSE
Subject: HIST. GUERRE 1939-45
ISBN: 9780399588754 (0399588752)
Renaud-Bray Reference: 14265688
Item nb: 2743062

SUGGESTIONS
Suggestions
Sapiens : une brève histoire de l'humanité HARARI, YUVAL NOAH
$36.95
Homo deus : une brève histoire de l'avenir HARARI, YUVAL NOAH
$36.95
21 leçons pour le XXIe siècle HARARI, YUVAL NOAH
$34.95
Last Witnesses , ALEXIEVICH, SVETLANA
© RANDOM HOUSE 2019
A Bird in the House $19.95 Quantity: 1

Alfred $11.99

Downloadable
digital book

508 item(s) in your cart.
Subtotal: $12,172.89
Renaud-Bray will pay
the shipping costs *