DIGITAL BOOKSJEUNESSE - ENBABYGAMES-TOYSSTATIONERYGIFTSEntertainment


Message Important
Le site sera temporairement en maintenance, pour une mise à jour. Ceci afin de mieux vous servir.
Heure de maintenance prévue : 10:30 pm

Important message
The site will be busy updating the store for you and will be back shortly.
Scheduled maintenance : 10:30 pm
BOOKS
NEW RELEASES PAPERBACK BOOKS COUPS DE CŒUR BEST SELLERS GIFT CARDS LIVRES NEUFS RÉDUITS LITTERATURE French and foreign novels Quebec, Canada literature Detective Novels Science fiction, fantasy Teenage literarure Poetry, theather, literary essays ART DE VIVRE Cooking, wine Psychologie - Santé Maternité - Famille Sexualité BD - JEUNESSE - HUMOUR Bandes-dessinées Humour Youth CULTURE ET SOCIÉTÉ Arts Biographies Essais Gestion - Économie - Droit Histoire - Politique Religion - Ésotérisme LOISIRS - TOURISME - NATURE Faune - Flore Géographie - Voyage Guides pratiques Sport - Loisirs SAVOIR ET SCIENCES Dictionnaires - Langues - Éducation Sciences Informatique
The Wake - LINDEN MACINTYRE

The Wake

LINDEN MACINTYRE

 
$32.99

English book
Feuilleter Feuilleter
In stock : Usually ships in 48 hours.
Quantity
Add to my wish list
Not available in store
LEARN MORE Summary

In the vein of Erik Larson’s Isaac’s Storm and Dead Wake comes an incredible true story of destruction and survival in Newfoundland by one of Canada’s best-known writers

On November 18, 1929, a tsunami struck Newfoundland’s Burin Peninsula. Giant waves, up to three storeys high, hit the coast at a hundred kilometres per hour, flooding dozens of communities and washing entire houses out to sea. The most destructive earthquake-related event in Newfoundland’s history, the disaster killed twenty-eight people and left hundreds more homeless or destitute. It took days for the outside world to find out about the death and damage caused by the tsunami, which forever changed the lives of the inhabitants of the fishing outports along the Burin Peninsula.

Scotiabank Giller Prize–winning writer Linden MacIntyre was born near St. Lawrence, Newfoundland, one of the villages virtually destroyed by the tsunami. By the time of his birth, the cod-fishing industry lay in ruins and the village had become a mining town. MacIntyre’s father, lured from Cape Breton to Newfoundland by a steady salary, worked in St. Lawrence in an underground mine that was later found to be radioactive. Hundreds of miners would die; hundreds more would struggle through shortened lives profoundly compromised by lung diseases ranging from silicosis and bronchitis to cancer. As MacIntyre says, though the tsunami killed twenty-eight people in 1929, it would claim hundreds if not thousands more lives in the decades to follow. And by the time the village returned to its roots and set up as a cod fishery once again, the stocks in the Grand Banks had plummeted and St. Lawrence found itself once again on the brink of disaster.

Written in MacIntyre’s trademark style, The Wake is a major new work by one of this country’s top writers.


Details
Price: $32.99
Category:
Author:  LINDEN MACINTYRE
Title: The Wake
Release date: August 2019
Editor: HARPER COLLINS
Subject: HIST. GEN. QUEBEC-CANADA
ISBN: 9781443452021 (1443452025)
Renaud-Bray Reference: 14747692
Item nb: 2865014

SUGGESTIONS
Suggestions
Mémoire qu'on vous a volée : de 1760 à nos jours(La) MESSIER, LOUIS-PHILIPPE
PROULX, GILLES
$24.95
Montréal 360° : l'histoire vue du ciel TURCOT, LAURENT
$39.95
Oeuvre du Grand Lièvre filou(L') BOUCHARD, SERGE
$19.95
The Wake , MACINTYRE, LINDEN
© HARPER COLLINS 2019
A Bird in the House $19.95 Quantity: 1

Abattre la bête $22.95 Quantity: 1
971 item(s) in your cart.
Subtotal: $22,989.16
Renaud-Bray will pay
the shipping costs *